Department of Microbiology

Department of Microbiology

Microbiology is one of the most dynamic areas of biological science as microbes are evolutionary and ecological pioneers and have immense socio-economic importance in our day to day life. These miniscule organisms play an indispensable and vital role in research in all areas of basic and applied science. It is an exceptionally broad discipline encompassing and integrating areas as diverse as Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Genetics, Molecular Biology, Environment, Agriculture, Taxonomy, Bioinformatics, and Biotechnology. The Department of Microbiology has well equipped and furnished laboratories to provide hands-on-training to undergraduate students. Various instruments and equipment’s such as laminar air flow, incubators, microscopes, UV-double beam spectrophotometer, centrifuges, thermal cycler, gel documentation system, high precision electronic balances, pH analyzers, image projection system, LCD projector etc are available in the Department. The faculty members of the Department are also actively involved in research through various innovation, in-house and extramural projects. The students of the department get a flavour of research at undergraduate level by getting involved in various projects, workshops, hands on training etc. The Department is also receiving grants from Star College scheme of DBT since 2010 and was awarded Star status in June 2017.

Department of Microbiology Faculty List

Dr. Purnima Anand

Ph.D

Environmental Microbiology

purnima.anand@bcas.du.ac.in

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Ruchi Gulati Marwah

Ph.D

Industrial Microbiology

ruchi_g1@yahoo.com

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Pawas Goswami

Ph.D

Dairy Microbiology

pawas.goswami@bcas.du.ac.in

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Vijay Kumar Nalla

Ph.D

Molecular Biology

Vijaydemo@gmail.com

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Ratyakshi

Ph.D

Biotechnology, Nanocomposites

Ratyakshidemo@gmail.com

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Neeru Bhagat

Ph.D

Molecular Microbiology.

neeru@gmail.com

Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Gunjan Sirohi

Ph.D

Molecular Biology, Biotechnology

gunjan@gmail.com

Curriculum Vitae

Syllabus

Society & Activities

Mentors Mentees List

Gallery